Posted on

Steam of Consciousness: A year in review

Well, ladies and gentlemen, it looks like the year is coming to a close, and what an interesting year it has been! For one thing- this is the year that I started this very blog and I’ve really enjoyed the response I’ve got from all of you lovely readers. In what started out as a project for my Writing Across the Media class, this blog has turned into a functioning forum for video game discussion. Whether it’s receiving feedback from readers like you or the peers that I talk to about content on this blog, I’ve found that my quest to introduce gamers to new and interesting games has not gone in vain. I’ll continue to keep spreading the word about interesting Steam games as long as the interest is there- and with 2014 promising Steam O.S. and the Steam Box, there will certainly be something to talk about here on this blog.

The Mighty Steam Box- Behold!

Looking back at this year- we’ve seen some interesting games on this blog: remember that time I talked about “The Stanley Parable”? That was arguably one of my favorite indie titles of the year! And do you remember my first review? I certainly do. It was of Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs- it certainly wasn’t as scary as it’s predecessor, but damn did it have some hauntingly good music. There was a lot to celebrate this year- and on this blog I celebrated my favorite local co-op games like Spelunky and Castle Crashers. It’s been an interesting year and I hope to cover even more titles in 2014.

This has been a great year for Steam, too- it’s the first time they surpassed more users than Xbox Live which is a MASSIVE achievement. They also announced the steambox- which is being used to compete with the Playstation 4 and the Xbox One in the console wars. It’ll certainly be interesting to see how it pans out. Added to Steam this year was the ability for developers to release Early Access Games- games that aren’t quite finished, but are still playable. This move increases the amount of feedback developers can get on an unfinished product and help make it the best game it can be (the same cannot be said for microsoft and their relationship with its indie developers). I think it’s only appropriate to give a rousing round of applause to Valve for its work on Steam this year. Claps for you, Steam!

As we head for a new year full of changes- I guess it would only be appropriate to make some resolutions for this blog. But first, I need to know what I should change- if anyone out there has any idea as to what should happen with the blog in 2014, send your ideas my way in the comments section. As always- this steam machine is always chugging.
So Happy Holidays from the Steam of Consciousness, I’m Jacob Garr and I’ll be seeing you in 2014.

About jacobgarr

I am Jacob Garr, a gamer who got a little overzealous and bought a ton of Steam games. I figured that starting this blog would help me take a look at the vast collective of Steam Games that I currently have and will obtain in the future- then state my own stupid opinion about them. With this blog, I aim to help video game enthusiasts find games that they may want to purchase in the future and help those who may not be aware of Steam or great video-games to become informed about such.

One response to “Steam of Consciousness: A year in review

Leave a comment